Worldwide Shipping
Cart 0

CurlSista of the Day: Irene from Brooklyn


1171997_1418746768384504_1677296972_n

Name/ Irene Lloyd-Peniston   Age/ 27   Background/ African American, born in the Bronx, NY.   Where do you live? I currently reside in Brooklyn, NY.   What do you do? I am currently a supervisor at a Travel Agency and I am in the process of finishing my degree in Human Services.

10499245_273692122816002_143639543_n

How long have you been a natural gal? I've been "officially" natural for a year and 6 months (not included the transition stage).   What do you love about being natural? I love the versility, the freedom to do as I please (of course with taking very good care of my hair in the process) which even after a year natural I am still learning a lot   What's your hair regimen? I wash my hair just about every week. Sometimes with conditioner only and other times I do use shampoo (it all depends on what I've done to my hair that week). Most of the time my hair is in a twist out when I am feeling lazy, it's definitely in a puff.   Top 5 fave hair products? 1. WATER (for sure) I feel like only naturals consider water a product lol. I for one did not consider this a product prior to going natural. 2. Eco styler Gel (I definitely buy the largest jar I can find) 3. The Jamaican Mango and Lime hair line (love it) 4. Shea Moisture curling smoothie 5. Coconut oil

SHOP THIS POST

[show_shopthepost_widget id="182700"] How do you describe your fashion style? I am very hummmmm simple (most don't think so but I really am) I am very sale friendly lol. When I walk into a store I definitely go into the sale section first them work my way around that... You'll definitely hear me say "oh this shirt is really cute and it's $5.00. Oh yes I'm getting it ha...

914400_314249498743749_228123394_n

 What are your fave stores to shop? I absolutely love thrifting... Ummm I love H&M and local boutiques.. I will shop anywhere.. As long as it looks good I'm all for it.   Do you have a fave designer? Not really.... I shockingly don't follow trends, what's in or what the celebrities are wearing.  I just wear what looks good.   One item you can't leave home without? My wedding ring (oh and my phone) lol...   Fave things to do on the weekend? My week is so consumed with work and school, on the weekends I really just like to chill... Beach, Picnic, simple things like that...

914763_751621988221361_37263903_n

Fave travel destinations? I really want to go back to Arizona (although its not really a destination). It's a place I've grown to really love in the short period of time I lived there.   What do you wish for? Oh this is a hard one, mostly because I could definitely say ALOT...  I'll try to sum it up... I just wish for people to love themselves more... So many young girls are lost out here because they do not have the proper influences on what it is to be a respectable young adult/woman... They are definitely following the incorrect trend.   Where do you see yourself in 5 years? In 5 years I see myself definitely being in business for myself with a family, definitely. Kids are definitely in my next 2 year plan.   What's some words of wisdom that you live by? "God is in control" I probably say this to myself everyday at least 10 times a day.. We go through so much stress on a daily basis and sometimes we need to remind ourselves that we aren't always in control and there is a reason for everything.   What makes you smile? Seeing other people happy (especially people near and dear to me) and seeing people love and care for themselves.   Random fact: I'm very down to earth lol..  A lot of people tend to not like me when they first meet me (getting to know me, their opinions definitely change).   Where can our readers find you? Instagram: @_irock Email: inquiry.irock@gmail.com Facebook: Facebook.com/irockthisirockthat Website: www.irockthisirockthat.com

Older Post Newer Post